CRAZY Year in Recap

tadbart

I'm still shaking my head at this year, as we all are. December might have put a positive spin on 2020 for me.

Boss texted me a week ago. Asked me how long I've been a Nurse Practitioner, then how long I've been in Emergency Medicine, then what he was paying me. I figured I done Fked up, BAD.

Nah. He gave me a major promotion, to Florida Clinical Manager, overseeing 3 clinics, 13 other Providers, and a hefty 12% raise. I schedule the Providers, write new protocols, handle minor disciplinary stuff, and manage training and recertification schedules, in addition to my regularly scheduled patient care shifts.

I'm still writing my job description. Pretty sure we are opening a 4th Florida clinic right after the first of the year, and he still wants me to travel to newly opened clinics to orient the providers. He says he wants to open 20 new clinics across the nation in 2021.

2020 in recap- Got a dream job in the ER. Got furloughed when Covid hit. Got hired at my company. Damn near died from the rona. Was off of work for two months total this year. Wrecked my truck. Got a ridiculous promotion.

Oh, and I'm heading up to Savannah for the weekend, part of which will be dinner with my boss, and a personal tour of an 8,000 acre plantation that he owns, that used to be owned by Henry Ford.

• Like 13
  • Thanks 2

6 minutes ago, deputy tom said:

Congrats on your promotion. tom. :599c64b15e0f8_thumbsup:

Thank you, Sir. I'm still interviewing with Yellowstone, because that's the end goal. Will have to decline a job offer there this year. But I can't NOT at least give this good thing a solid go. I mean, Yellowstone is the end goal, but management experience is HUGE for the resume. I like my job, my boss, and my company. Somehow, my dream, career pinnacle job found itself pushed back a season, maybe a couple. Insanity.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

12 minutes ago, Walt Longmire said: