Firefox Users

Eric

• Administrators

I have been using Firefox as my primary browser for almost twenty years. In the early years, it was a substantially better product than anything else available, although there were very few viable options to pick from back then. Internet Explorer was king back then and it sucked monumentally, but most people simply put up with it. There were a few great years as a Firefox user, but five or six years ago, the experience started going downhill for me. I work online and I demand a lot of a browser. Firefox began to fall short of my needs. It became more bloated and less capable.

Today, it is a huge resource hog and when I am doing a lot of multimedia or code work in the browser, it becomes unstable fairly quickly. The upgrade system is another sore point for me. I have automatic upgrades turned off, mostly because I hate to trip over a problem unexpectedly, only to find that the damned browser upgraded and broke something. This used to be IE's province, but Firefox has gotten almost as bad. Also, the automatic upgrades would often do an unannounced restart and interrupt my work, often causing me to lose progress.

The resource use is the biggest problem I face with it today though. I keep a LOT of stuff open on my computer. I like to be able to quickly jump between browser tabs & apps, without waiting for things to load or quit. I typically have four or five browser widows open, with 40 or 50 tabs open between them, at any given time. This isn't laziness. I usually leave content open in those tabs that I want to pick back up where I left it, without having to hunt it down again. The overhead of this much use on Firefox causes a substantial load on my Mac. It uses a ton of memory and generates a lot of heat. As small as it is, the computer gives off as much heat as a decent space heater.