How do you keep these full of air?

gwalchmai

OK, I am a firm believer in hand trucks. I used to be a professional, in fact. But why is is that pneumatic tires seem to lose their ability to hold air the smaller they get? ALL the gizmos with small tires slowly leak, and you don't realize it until you need the dang thing. :(

Would increasing the Earth's local gravitational constant help? More nitrogen, perhaps? Maybe fill them with beet juice (don't laugh, it's a thing)?

BTW, I would not buy this particular model...

Font Parallel Audio equipment Tire Circle

• Like 1

2 hours ago, pipedreams said:

If you already have a hand truck replacement wheels of different types and sizes can be found at different stores.  I found just what I wanted at Harbor Freight.  The tires are filled with some sort of closed cell foam  if I remember correctly.  

Ooh! I'll have to check on that. Trouble is I paid $5 for the hand truck (estate sale). Very HQ, with ball bearing wheels, which just leak a bit. Your suggestion sounds great but probably costs more than the hand truck cost new. Maybe tubes are my CRB answer. Of course, any excuse to hit the ChinaMarts is a good one. :)

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Hauptmann6 said:

Put tubes in, or slime. Or you know, add air. lol

I use slime in ATV and mower tires but didn't have any luck with the smaller tires like he described. 

1 hour ago, gwalchmai said:

Ooh! I'll have to check on that. Trouble is I paid $5 for the hand truck (estate sale). Very HQ, with ball bearing wheels, which just leak a bit. Your suggestion sounds great but probably costs more than the hand truck cost new. Maybe tubes are my CRB answer. Of course, any excuse to hit the ChinaMarts is a good one. :)