Printing issues

Leavemeout

I have seen several people this week with printing issues on their ccw. Not sure if they are that oblivious, don't mind showing it or if the colder weather makes a difference. Maybe they are carrying a G19 with the sweatshirt weather versus the G43 in summer. Does anyone else change their ccw for the winter due to easier concealability of a larger gun? Do you notice that removing a sweatshirt or coat in the warmer afternoon causes printing issues? Curious of why it has been so noticeable lately. It's in the 50's in the AM in Wisconsin so ymmv depending on the local weather. 

I've been carrying since about 2000 and have only been "made" once, when my cover garment rode all the way on top of the gun, leaving it completely exposed. A guy was looking right at me with big eyes. I covered it and went on my way, and nothing happened. Looking clean-cut and friendly in general, and not like a criminal or a punk goes a long way. 

I'm not a big guy and am able to conceal a G23 in a paddle holster. During the summer, I wear a slightly oversized dark colored t-shirt. That's the toughest part fo the year. When I can justify a golf windbreaker or sweatshirt, concealment is extremely easy. 

Unless the gun is fairly clearly visible, nobody will know what it is with enough certainty to do anything about it.

Edited by Brad
  • Like 2

I just wear the basic jeans/t-shirt most of the time.  I do tend to wear clothes that are just a little bigger than they should be to avoid being too obvious.  If you're someone who prefers the tighter fit clothing that the younger crowd tends to favor, that can be a little tough.

Another thing I do it try to pick holsters that ride pretty high.   A very nice high riding holster you could consider is the Kramer scabbard in cowhide or horsehide.  I have one for my CZ P-07, and it really is exceptional.  They run around $135