Work Rant

tadbart

So, somehow, I worked myself into a management position in my company. Didn't intend to. In fact, I once told my boss that if she made me relief charge nurse again, I'd clock out and leave for the last time. 

Well, here I am, third in line in leadership in this Urgent Care company, with 40 Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants that I schedule and answer to me, across 10 clinics from Arizona to Atlanta. We have a comprehensive protocol, that covers most of the urgent care things you can think of.

Some bonehead didn't follow protocol last week when suturing someone up, and they came in today for suture removal, with a solid infection. The note this provider wrote- I wrote better notes when I was an EMT making 8 bucks an hour. It was terrible. Nothing at all about the suturing procedure, no details about teaching, wound cleaning, etc.

So, Now I'm up in the middle of the damn night, taking texts from all the providers, ensuring that they follow the protocols on their patients. And I'll be doing so for the forseeable future. All while doing my normal daytime management crap.

Belichick had it right. DO YOUR JOB.

• Like 2

54 minutes ago, jmohme said:

Almost every job I have ever had, I ended up in management.

I finally solved that problem by starting my own business and managing myself. At least now I don't have to guess what the owners expectations are.

This is a distant possibility. I don't mind providing medical care for the payment of a goat, a chicken, some eggs, or a handful of silver quarters. I've batted the idea of doing rural medicine around a little bit. Might be a good retirement gig.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 minutes ago, tadbart said:

This is a distant possibility. I don't mind providing medical care for the payment of a goat, a chicken, some eggs, or a handful of silver quarters. I've batted the idea of doing rural medicine around a little bit. Might be a good retirement gig.