Situational Awareness

CalmerThanYou

More and more I find myself taking a few moments to observe my surroundings, looking for anything out of the ordinary before I enter parking lot, store, building or event.  I do not pull up tight to the car ahead of me, in the event I need to move away from my position..  I without being obvious check out cars pulling up next to me.

I assume many of you do the same.  Any additional advice or experiences?

• Like 3

• 2 weeks later...

I'm looking forward to the replies to this thread, because I find that most of the time all anyone says is, "maintain a high-level of situational awareness."  But rarely does anyone go into any specifics about the techniques/mechanics of how to do that.

A few things I try to do include: 

I do a visual scan of my surroundings about every 20 seconds.  This is pretty easy for me, as I've been a pilot for nearly a dozen years now, and doing visual scans of the airspace around me as well as my instruments is pretty much instinctive at this point.  However, to explain:  I break up my field of view into four quadrants, basically four horizontal rectangles (two on the left/two on the right) and quickly scan first the center of a quadrant then each of the corners of a quadrant, before returning to the center of my FOV, looking for anything that's not supposed to be there; like another airplane, a helicopter, a hot air balloon, etc.  Then I scan the next quadrant and so on, each time returning my attention to the center of my FOV.  Each quadrant scan takes about 2-3 seconds.  So in a crowded room/area filled with faces, I'm looking for anything that stands out.  Most of the faces should be smiling, or bored, or looking for something/someone, etc.  Some eye contact is likely, but normal eye contact lasts about 1-2 seconds, then they should slide away.  Unusual would be angry, scared, or focused right on me.  Those faces are going to get my attention immediately.