The good old gun days

fiveoboy01

What did you do with guns way back when that would get you jailed or yelled at today?

This isn't meant to be a political nor gun control thread, just want to hear some stories. 

-My mom bought my first gun, an Marlin .22 bolt action rifle, from Ace Hardware.  I was a sophomore in HS...   Myself and a classmate plinked at empty Tide detergent containers in a field adjacent to a middle school.  

-I used to walk the ditch by my parent's house looking for crows in the fields to shoot.  Right along a rural highway with a scoped rifle.

-When I was a junior in HS, same classmate as above brought his 870 slug gun into English class for a speech, disassembled it, reassembled it, changed barrels etc...

• Thanks 2

Gun shops had a smell. It was a mix of gun oil, burnt powder, and bull carp from lots of people's stories. 

I'm gettin older and fewer stores have that smell. 

The last one I went into could be described as the Wet Seal of the gun world. I'm just not cool enough for that kind of store. 

Give me the gun shop of 40 years ago.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 3

• Administrators

I was on a rifle team in high school. We had a 50’ firing range right in the main school building, next to my JROTC classroom. We used to practice regularly after school and were allowed to come in and shoot before school and at lunch, with very little supervision. This was in the mid-eighties. 

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1