New K frame

Collim1

She arrived today. A very beautiful, possibly never fired model 10-7 snub nose with a round butt.

It is pristine.  This gun has never seen a holster. I am very pleased with it.  I have been looking locally for one for many years with no luck, so I turned to Gunbroker.  I’m a GB newb, but this particular purchase turned out to be a very easy and painless transaction.  

Well, enough talk.  Here she is:

A1FBA456-48FE-4116-AA1F-A17C36917460.jpeg

This gun is beckoning to be loaded with some Nyclad HP’s. I really regret shooting off the last of my stash years ago. I would have held onto them had I known they would be discontinued shortly thereafter.  

Edited by Collim1
  • Like 14
  • Thanks 1

31 minutes ago, Valmet said:

That’s a beautiful S&W- congrats. Always feels fantastic to finally get one you’ve been after for awhile. Why did they discontinue the Nyclad bullets? I still have a few floating around myself. 

I have read a few different theories. One was they weren’t selling compared to newer JHP technology. 

Another was there profit margin was slimmer compared to other rounds due to the expense of the coating process. Not sure I believe that one. 

Possibly a combination of the two. Who knows. 

For years one of my local shops ALWAYS had several boxes of Nyclads in stock so I never worried about sourcing them. Until one day they didn’t........

• Like 1

That is a beautiful gun. I'm glad to hear that you're thinking of shooting it. Federal could make a near-equivalent  of the  the 125 grain Nyclad load today by using soft lead and powder coating the bullet instead of coating it with nylon.

For a non plus+P defensive load in the 38 special, I like the 150 grain full wadcutter loaded by Underwood and Buffalo Bore to produce an honest 850 fps out of a short barrel. the hardcast bullet does not lead the barrel of my model 38 airweight humpback bodyguard.

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Borg warner said: