Anyone else able to detail strip all of their guns?

Boogieman

I have one pistol I have yet to do a complete tear-down and detail clean on since I bought it, but everything else pretty much just gets a field strip and a bath in the ultrasonic tank whenever I think it's needed.  Then again, that particular gun is barely broken in, despite being the first one I ever bought, by almost a decade.

Most striker fired are pretty simple, so not really a whole lot involved in a detail strip on them.  Ruger mkII is a bit of a pain.

I'm not a high volume shooter, so I don't really need to clean them that often.  

Then again, I also repair mechanical stuff for a living, so the basic skills are already there. 

I know more than a few guys that I wouldn't trust to clean a brick, let alone a firearm.  

• Like 2

18 minutes ago, Patrice said:

I am uncertain though about the reason or benefits to detail stripping one's firearms, at least detail stripping for its own sake? 

That makes some sense, but in the long run, springs break, wear out, etc. It's a good thing to know how to do it. $aves you trouble. My HK 45's flat spring broke after 11-12k rounds, paying a gunsmith wasn't an option, so I taught myself how to... and those DA/SA HK are a PITA to field strip with all those plates

• Like 2

I have 52 handguns. I bought most of them used, the first thing I do when I get them home is detail strip and inspect all parts. I replace anything that doesn’t pass inspection thoroughly clean and reassemble. It does help that a pretty good chunk of what I own are vintage S&W revolvers. 

• Like 3

I don't pay anyone to do much of anything for me.    

I also don't think I've ever paid a gunsmith to do anything for me.    I am a bubba gunsmith without the bubba.    

I like to build "custom" guns from boxes of parts.   Those don't always run right when finished.  It's up to me to figure out why and fix it.