Losing people lately

Silentpoet

On the 1st of July we buried my Aunt Judy.  She was my mom's best friend. Mom had known her since about 1970.  Mom was a young widow of roughly 26.  Aunt Judy had Parkinsons and Lewey Body dementia.  Back in mid may we went and saw her down in Weatherford, roughly 450 miles away.  I knew it wouldn't be long, but I didn't know it would be that soon.  Back when I was in college I would call and talk to her.  She was a strong woman. Not this Hollywood bullshit of a rude bitchy woman. 

Then yesterday I found out my mom's cousin Ruby had passed away.  Ruby had been my high school guidance counselor and I had actually spent some time and was close to her mom before her. High school was a **** show for me and she was a friend and refuge for me in all my struggles.  When I graduated college after only getting my GED she was at my graduation and told me her mom would be so proud.  Aunt Blanche was a teacher before she retired and I got to know her. Ruby and her husband got a motel room to attend my graduation.

So as I am digesting that last night I find out a friend of mine from Youtube had passed away from complications after surgery. He was only about a year older than me.  We used to watch B movies and make fun of them together. 

I ain't totally depressed but I am a bit down.  I am ok right now, just tired of this world a bit.

• Like 5
  • Sad 4

As we age it is a grind as we lose people.

I know they say we should be glad we had them while we did (and I agree), but when it's fresh that offers nothing.

No tool really works, but one that I try is to ask myself if I'd be better off not having known them (and thus not be so pained by their passing).

Realizing this would also mean missing out on all the experiences and good memories... no, in the moment this still doesn't "make it better/OK", but can help kick start the process of becoming unstuck, if slowly.

Sincere wishes for hope, health, and a more sunny tomorrow.