Lasers to the eyes

Wyzz Kydd

Given the increasing use of commercial laser pointers by Antifa and BLM a question comes to mind.

If someone is shining a laser into someone else's eyes, does that constitute assault?  If so, what legal actions can a person being assaulted in such a way take to defend himself?

I have a feeling this may become increasingly relevant.

So, someone is 'mostly peacefully protesting in my neighborhood, sees my Trump lawn sign and starts shining a laser towards my eyes.  Other than retreat, what are my legal options?

• Like 2

Just now, deputy tom said:

I'm no lawyer but if someone shines a laser into my eyes I'm shooting towards that laser to the best of my abilities. tom.

I'm hoping that's a legal response.  I'm not very concerned about my ability to defend myself against these tools, but I am concerned that I stay within the law if or when I'm forced to do so.

• Like 2

There are different strengths of lasers. Those used in laser sights are among the less dangerous although none are risk free.

But if the laser being shined at you is, or can be reasonably presumed to be a sight, is it assault with a deadly weapon? And if someone is sighting a weapon at you when is shooting first reasonable?

• Like 1

I wander if a laser is pointed at you what the purpose would be since there are only two reasons for the laser.  A gunsight or to blind you.

I know the purpose of a gunsight, what would be purpose be for blinding you.  My take is it is to make you unable to resist any action that occurs during the time you are being blinded. That's a hostile act!

• Like 1

Wisconsin:

WISCONSIN: Restrictions on the use of laser pointers
941.299  Restrictions on the use of laser pointers.

(1) In this section:
     (a) "Correctional officer" has the meaning given in s. 941.237 (1) (b).