The Jefferson Airplane

Borg warner

This is a rather lengthy video but very well done. I graduated high school in 1966 and was a big fan of the band in 67.  I  lived in Los Angeles and went to mall the clubs and was into the music scene there and also became a fan of the San Fransisco bands. It was a fun time to be young especially with all those Hippie chicks who believed in "Free Love".

I saw the group live a couple of times back in the day but then I saw them again in 1989 when they did a reunion tour and then about a year later I saw them in small club and during the break I was at the bar and the bass player, Jack Cassady, who I admired for his virtuosity, sat down next to me for the break and I got to have a nice talk with him and told him how much I like how he played and he was genuinely humble and just said, "well, it's what I do, and I've been doing it for a long time and I like doing it." Papa John Creech played with then that night and did a soleo version of "Somewhere over the rainbow" that was absolutely beautiful. it was one of his last performances.

• Like 2

I know it's not exactly the same thing, but "We Built This City" is my #1 guilty pleasure song. Everybody hates it, but I think it is about the perfect pop tune. Plus, Grace was still belting it out.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

• Like 2

8 minutes ago, Borg warner said:

Papa John Creech played with then that night and did a soleo version of "Somewhere over the rainbow" that was absolutely beautiful. it was one of his last performances.

Very cool...  I was from that era also.  I have many stories I could tell.

Mom had a Jefferson Airplane poster "White Rabbit" I thought she was old but when I noticed it was way cool...  She was also at Kent State May 4th. 1970. I was told not to come down and visit those days.

Dave..

1 hour ago, F14Scott said: