Machete attack on the Appalachian Trail!

gwalchmai

For years, hiking all or parts of the AT has been a bucket list thing for me, and I studied up on the trail and mental/physical/logistical requirements for undertaking a long hike. As you can imagine, firearms are a hot button issue among the AT crowd, with the vast majority condemning the carrying of weapons. They preach situational awareness, but always default to the victim stance when evil appears. It's all unicorns and rainbows with this crowd. Hell, they don't even approve of pocket knives.

When I'm in the woods hiking, my threat radar is going 24/7. I take great pains to be aware of other two-legged critters in my vicinity -- those I pass, those I can see ahead. I take mental inventory of their affect and any potential weapons they might have. No different than walking down the street in an unfamiliar urban environment. And I'm certain many who frequent this forum do the same.

The bad guy in this case should have been visually identified as a potential threat. The victims should have had a plan to deal with him (and anybody they met on the trail). He was a predator, and they were his prey.

Wasn't the first time this has happened, and won't be the last.  The ability to identify threats and act accordingly is as important as anything in your pack. Hike in threat condition "yellow", until you spot company... then go to condition "orange". If things go south, condition "red" will be an easier adjustment.

• Like 2

For twenty four years, one of my summer outings would typically be a backpacking trip.  One of my hiking buddies was super liberal and he objected to the fact that I had a 9mm pistol in my pack.  I'd tell him, "It's not for bears. It's for people," but I don't think he ever got that one crazy guy with a machete can ruin your whole day. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2