Aero Comes out with .460 Rowland

Moshe

For those who might care, they have the .460 Rowland in pistol and regular size.  For those that have the .460 in a Glock 21 format, it might make a nice addition.  The pistol could be SBR'ed, and canned.

• 4 weeks later...
On ‎3‎/‎22‎/‎2019 at 4:29 AM, Moshe said:

For those who might care, they have the .460 Rowland in pistol and regular size.  For those that have the .460 in a Glock 21 format, it might make a nice addition.  The pistol could be SBR'ed, and canned.

As far as putting a suppressor on it> then you'd have to reduce the velocity considerably for it to run subsonic, wouldn't you? I have limited experience with suppressors and I'm not sure how much sound suppression you get with supersonic ammo.

Here's a link:

https://www.shootingillustrated.com/articles/2019/2/23/new-for-2019-tnw-firearms-aero-survival-rifle-in-460-rowland/

9 hours ago, Moshe said:

It does impact velocity somewhat, but less with subsonic rounds.  I suspect they don't make subsonic .460, but it is LOUD.  Not quite AR-15 loud, but getting there.

The question would be how much sound suppression would there be with full power ammo? 460 Rowland operates at 40,000 Psi and drives a 230 grain bullet at 1400 fps.

There wouldn't be much point in subsonic 460 Rowland ammo because it would be the same as the standard 45 auto which is a better cartridge to try to suppress because even Plus +P ammo is subsonic and it's a low pressure round, 21,000 psi for standard ammo and just 23,000 for plus+P. And any semi-auto set up to run full power 460 would probably not function with the cartridge loaded down that much.