Try Heavier Ammo

Slow Burn

A standard AR 15 style - 16" barrel with 1:8 twist - is WAY more accurate with 75 grain ammo than with common 55 grain bullets. This is probably old news to most, but it was a revelation to me. With the handguns I'm used to shooting, different ammo of the same caliber might run better,  or be more effective against a threat, but doesn't seem to affect accuracy much. I assumed the same was true of common ARs like mine but it ain't so. If you doubt it, and have a rifle with a 1:8 or 1:7 twist, pick up a box of 75 grain 556 and try it out. 

I'm old but, new to rifles and just started trying to shoot my Ruger AR556 a few months ago. The reason I picked it up in the first place is a long story involving political misjudgment but the idea was just to resell it and I only started shooting it after realizing I'd never make a profit on it. Fun, but its been a learning curve. One of the good shooters at the range suggested the reason my groups were not real tight might be my "storebought" ammo.  I thought he was being kind giving me an out, but I researched it a little and learned 75 grain bullets were supposedly much better suited to my gun. Seems odd because 55 grain ammo is so standard, but I tried some 75 grain out last weekend and shazam - is that really me? Groups tight as tick with this bargain rifle. 

I never would have believed ammo made that much difference. Specifically I used Hornady BTHP Superperformance Match, (I'm not a re-loader so its still "storebought") but I think the main factor is bullet weight. 

Edited by Slow Burn