45acp powder

Wally720

I'm new at reloading 45acp and wondering what some of your preferences are in powder between Titegroup, Bullseye, and Unique for 200gr lswc. I'm using a Missouri Bullet that looks like the Lyman 452460. Also what is your COL? I'm experimenting and haven't found a recipe that I'm really happy with yet. Shooting through a Springfield 1911 RO. 

I use Titegroup. 

4.5 gr, 200 gr RN BBI with 1.25 OAL gives me around 850 fps.  

4.2 gr, 230 gr moly coated RN with an OAL of 1.25 gives me around 740 fps.  YMMV.

Edited by GRR

Hello.

Boy I've used a TON of different powders for .45Auto.  Bullseye, Unique, 700-X, AA#5, AA#2, Red Dot, and others.

For your bullet weight and being new at reloading I would start with Bullseye for light to medium loads, and Unique if you want to push that 200-gr bullet at GI velocities.

OAL is a tough one, because many (two of mine included) Springfield 1911s have very short chamber leade dimensions.  An acceptable O.A.L. for other guns will bind the bullet shoulder or ogive into the lands of a Springfield and kill the guns operation real fast.  Fortunately the 452460 almost eliminates that possibility.  Just do a plunk test with load manual suggestions.  You'll be fine.

Be sure to watch out for small pistol primer .45Auto brass!

Thanks for the input guys. I'm using 4.6 Titegroup and 4.5 bullseye at 1.235 COL. Pretty consistent groups and mild recoil but I'm just trying to tighten them up a bit. Probably more my old eyes than anything else. 

I like Titegroup aa a powder for .45 acp, especially 230gr bullets. It has worked very well for me.

I have some 215gr bowling pin bullets that I reloaded that are "very" accurate with 4.5gr of Titegroup.

Edited by DWARREN123

I like something with the burn rate of Unique. Unique is a very flexible powder and works with different bullet weights. Power Pistol is another excellent powder for the 45 Auto for full power loads.