I Am Stepping Down As A GT Admin

Eric

• Administrators

I just posted the statement below, over there. Folks, please DO NOT use this thread to bash GT. This was a damned hard thing for me to do and I am pretty upset about it. Please do not make it worse for me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello. Many of you know me and most of you know who I am. I created this site twenty years ago and I have been an admin here ever since. This site changed my life. I imagine most of you have heard my backstory concerning the site. I won’t bore you with it again. Twenty years is a long time. 40% of my life spent building, nurturing and administering this place. It is with a heavy heart that I am announcing to you all that I am stepping down as an administrator here, effective next Friday, tentatively.

This is not a decision I arrived at quickly or easily. In retrospect, I never should have sold the place. I have watched this thing that I created dragged off in a direction I never intended for it. There are a lot of great people that have been a part of Outside Hub/Outdoor Hub/Carbon Media Group, over the years. I’ve met some fine folks through my association with that organization. I don’t have a problem with any of their employees individually, but their vision for the site, their priorities have been very different from mine. They had their eye on a different set of goals.