Courtesy Reminder of Jury Service starting November 22, 2021

Duluth

I've never done Jury Service before...I'm in group number 29 and the courts will be closed Thanksgiving and the Friday after. Do any of you have experience with this? Any idea of the odds I'll be called in? 

"The following group numbers will need to report to the Lower Level, Room 30 of the Ramsey County City Hall / Courthouse by 8:15 a.m.    

Group numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6.

If your group number is not listed, you must check for the next update Monday at 11:30 a.m. for the afternoon session.

It is important to note that jurors may be directed to report to the courthouse with less than 75 minutes notice for the afternoon, so please plan accordingly.

Please note:  Do not check this message prior to the times listed above, as the message is subject to change up until those times.

Thank you, stay safe and have a great day."

• Like 1

You need to report as directed. You may or may not actually end up serving.

Have COVID tests and/or jabs specified as required?

I have served on one criminal court jury. Was an interesting several days. Never on civil court juries.

Don’t “pack heat” or for that matter even carry a knife into the building.

You might want to carry a paperback novel to read during the selection process but put it aside if/when you are assigned to a jury.

Enjoy yourself and learn from the experience. 

• Like 5

They do the initial interview with everyone there and I always get excused. 

No record. Worked in a prison. Own guns. Regular church attendance. Know a lot of cops. Know a couple judges. 

Defender tosses me out. 

My wife had the best one. Had argued cases before the judge and was on a first name basis with him outside of court. Argued against the defense attorney. Dated the prosecutors brother. 

When she walked in all three almost simultaneously said Lisa???

She didn’t even get to sit down. 

• Haha 3