Muzzle Brakes

Maser

We all know the infamous 9mm vs .45ACP or AK vs AR arguments, but it seems we don't see the muzzle brake arguments anymore.  So let's fire up them old embers shall we?  So what do you think of muzzle brakes?  Love them?  Hate them?  Don't care?

For me personally, I hate them simply because they don't do what they're suppose to do.  Hard kicking handguns don't bother me in the least.  Hard kicking long guns on the other hand do indeed annoy me.  I have been shooting guns since I was 3 years old and just haven't seen any effective muzzle brakes.  I mean if you're going for making a gun twice as loud then yeah, muzzle brakes work great for that, but as far as recoil reduction, I see no difference between a bare muzzle and a braked muzzle. 

Your turns guys and gals!  Oh, and I didn't post this in the Arms Room simply because this topic may turn tongue-in-cheek and I feel the Arms Room is for more serious gun talk.  

Edited by Maser

i have some Experience with a few different types.

as far as AR i prefer the BCM Gunfighter Mod 0-its a little of a Brake and Flash hider and compensator to work well in all of those aspects and does`nt piss anyone beside you off so much they hate you,and it does keep the muzzle on target through multiple rounds fired

Griffin Arms flash Comp is also a great mix of both loud but it keeps the muzzle dead flat,you really do want to use the Blast Shield if your shooting with anyone or indoors because you will be hated.

i never used a comp or Brake on a pistol that i owned and any i fired seemed to be just added weight to minimize lift.

and only ones i recall had barrels ported and were .454 Casull or .500 Smiths

34 minutes ago, Walt Longmire said:

I have one on a custom rifle in .416 Remington. Tames it right down. My brother's and I all had the Weatherby Accumark in .30-378 Magnum. It's painfully loud even with hearing protection. Don't ever shoot it without protection. None on my Hawg Leg magnum revolvers.